Day 1 Asics Beat The Sun 

So as some of you may know, I am currently in Chamonix as part of the Asics Beat The Sun team and I thought it would be a good idea to keep a blog diary for the few days that I am here. For those of you who haven’t got a clue what I am going on about here is a little synopsis.

On June 21st, the longest day of the year, ASICS will be hosting a race for 5 teams of pro and amateur trail runners who will attempt to race against nature and ‘Beat The Sun’. The athletes will have exactly 15 hours, 41 minutes and 35 seconds to circumnavigate Mont Blanc, the highest mountain in Western Europe, starting at sunrise and finishing at sunset.

The challenge which starts and finishes in Chamonix, covers over 162km of mountainous terrain and passes through three countries; France, Italy and Switzerland.

In order to succeed, each team of athletes will have to work together in a relay across 9,600 meters of crippling ascent, and inclement weather conditions from scorching heat to freezing cold temperatures and fierce winds, rain and snow.

The teams are divided into Southern Europe, Northern Europe, Americas, Asia and Africa and each contain 3 amateur runners and 3 pro runners. 

So I have finally arrived in the trail running Mecca of Chamonix and as always it never dissapoints. The sun is out and the beautiful mont blanc is towering over the town like a a big white meringue. Asics have put us all up in a lovely hotel in the centre of town and one by one we are arriving, all apprehensive but excited about what awaits us. As soon as I got here I was eager to get out on the trails so I dumped my stuff in my room, pulled on my trail shoes and took a leisurely run up to Chalet le Floria which is the most beautiful little cafe on the way upto le Flegere. It also has the most amazing view of the mountain and glacier. I stopped for a while to catch my breath and take some snaps (I’m not going to lie I was seriously tempted by a cold beer) and then carried on up the valley before dropping down to Le Praz and back along the river to Chamonix. 

So tomorrow we start the real business……briefings and kit allocation and time to get to know each other better.

  

One thought on “Day 1 Asics Beat The Sun 

Leave a Reply

