IAU World Trail Championships 2015

So i am super excited and honoured to have been selected to run for Great Britain in the IAU World Trail Championships this year to be held in Annecy. This will be the fourth time I will have had the honour of wearing the GB vest and one I hadn’t expected to wear again. The race will start and finish in the beautiful town of Annecy in the French Alps on 30th May. The course circumnavigates the lake with over 5,300ms of vertical gain over 85k and will include athletes from 78 different countries. The course is going to be extremely tough and technical and with the added bonus of starting in the dark at 3.30am. So my first port of call is getting myself a descent head torch. After my poor effort at staying upright during the first 2 hours of moonlight running at The Festival Le Templiers I need to address my night running.
Representing your country at any event is always a great honour and something I never dreamt I would be doing when I started this running lark in my 20s. Competing in my first major championships in Barcelona (European Champs, 2010) and winning a team bronze medal made me believe that perhaps anything is possible with really hard work.
That performance was good enough to see me selected to run the marathon at the Commonwealth Games in Delhi, another dream come true. So to be asked to wear the union jack again in what is a whole new running chapter for me really is the icing on the cake……after all i’m not getting any younger and who knows how much longer my body will let me continue abusing it.
I would also like to thank Asics for their continued support (I get through a lot of shoes), Tim at Chia Charge for keeping me in calories, Claire Wheller my faithful physio and good friend for keeping my body in one piece, Renee McGregor the Food Doctor for her font of all nutrition knowledge, Alan ‘true running guru’ Storey for kicking my butt and Martin Rush for seeing the runner in me.
So now this is where i need to pull my finger out my bum and actually do some training……..IMG_1174.JPG

5 thoughts on “IAU World Trail Championships 2015

Leave a Reply

