Loving Life vs Sensible Recovery

So not surprisingly this week I managed to pick up a chest infection which has left me sounding like an old barking dog (apparently even my neighbours can hear me hacking away at night, sorry!). This has not really come as a shock to me as I did spend most of last week burning the candle at both ends, eating rich food, drinking too much cider and probably not listening to my body as well as I should have. However, I have to say I don’t regret any of it. I firmly believe that life should be enjoyed and after months of hard training and mental focus I think its important to let your hair down and do the things you don’t have the time or energy to do when you are focusing on a key race. So this week has involved some easy jogging with the hound and getting back into some strength and conditioning. My chest feels much better now but I still have an annoying cough.

I hope that I can start putting together some decent miles and some injection of speed this week as I have been lucky enough to be invited to compete as part of Team Europe at the Les Templiers Festival at the end of October. This is a fairly iconic mountain trail race in the Massif Central region of France. There are a number of races over the weekend but I have been invited to run the 70k event. Its a super competitive event with some of the best ultra trail runners in the world so I am really excited to be a part of it. Its not that far away so I need to get my mountain legs on and start preparing for the terrain. I am hoping to get a few races in as training practice for the event and get up to the Lakes to practice using some poles as I think I may need them for this race. But for now I just need to remain healthy and injury free, and to do that I need to get back to the daily hum drum of life and stop gallivanting around.

On that note, Im off to bed for some kip (another important recovery tool!)

Leave a Reply

